ABSTRACT PAINTING WORKSHOP

I just returned home from my Abstract Painting workshop at Friends University and I’m super exhausted. Teaching is hard work! Mother Nature tried to trap me at home this morning but Charles Baughman saved the day (again) and transported me and my supplies to Friends University. The day started with an artist talk at the Riney Fine Arts Gallery and then we moved the party over to the Garvey Art Center where I did some painting demos. After I showed the students all of my tricks they were allowed to flex their creative muscles and create some abstract collage paintings. We took a break for lunch and afterward Aaron Krone and I lead a formal critique of the students work thus far. After the critique the students were given some additional time to work on their paintings and apply some of the feedback they were given during the critique. Overall I think the workshop was a success.

I want to thank all of the Friends University students that participated in my workshop today. I also want to thank the wonderful faculty and staff at Friends University for making this workshop happen. The students at Friends University are very lucky to have Karen Scroggins and Aaron Krone as their instructors. I want to thank Ted Krone for buying lunch. I will never turn down some free greasy breakfast food. AND most importantly I want to thank all of the awesome people who donated collage materials for the workshop. You guys delivered the goods! I managed to return home with some of the leftovers. I hope all of the students enjoyed the workshop.

Several people have asked me “Do you have any plans to teach a painting class for the general public?” I have nothing planned at the moment but I am always open to the idea of teaching a weekly class or workshop at MarkArts, CityArts or The Art Park in the future. If enough people show a genuine interest in such a thing I can probably make that happen.

xDETAIL OF WORK IN PROGRESS

Leave a Reply

