I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS

When I started working on my painting for ARTLESS I was overwhelmed by how much raw material I had to work with. I had drawings of pizza and dinosaurs and goats and hearts. I had fields of color and flowers and geometric shapes and squiggly lines and landscapes. I wasn’t sure how to organize these images in a cohesive way. I wanted to include everyone’s drawings but I also wanted to create a “good” painting. I wanted the painting to be an honest collaboration between myself and the ARTLESS participants. I quickly realized that if I wanted to create a successful painting I had to stop seeing these drawings as sacred objects. I needed to treat them like the old comic books and maps and scraps of wallpaper that I normally use in my paintings. Once that thought was planted inside my brain I was free to jump into the fire and start painting. I didn’t map out the composition beforehand. I didn’t plan ahead. I just grabbed paper and found a proper place for it. Sometimes I used the entire drawing. Sometimes I would tear the drawing into smaller pieces. Sometimes I would overlap the drawings. Sometimes I would draw or paint on top of the drawings. Many of the drawings are buried underneath other drawings or obscured by big brushstrokes or crayon scribbles. I tried my best to preserve as much of the original drawings as possible and use my own brushstrokes and scribbles to unify the drawings and create a more harmonious composition. I didn’t want to dominate the painting and I kept my own mark making to a minimum. I really wanted the drawings to be the focus of the painting. I’m really happy with the end result. I hope all of you like it.

ARTLESS-ilovepizzaanddinosaurs-edit2“I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS” MIXED MEDIA ON WOOD

ARTLESS-detail1DETAIL VIEW – “I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS” MIXED MEDIA ON WOOD

ARTLESS-detail2DETAIL VIEW – “I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS” MIXED MEDIA ON WOOD

ARTLESS-detail3DETAIL VIEW – “I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS” MIXED MEDIA ON WOOD

ARTLESS-ilovepizzaanddinosaurs-BackBACK VIEW – “I LOVE PIZZA AND DINOSAURS” MIXED MEDIA ON WOOD

Leave a Reply

