TODAY’S LESSON

I just finished the 2nd session of my Abstract Painting class with Jim Gross at the WCFTA. Tonight I “finished” my painting from last week and I started 2 new paintings. The first new painting was a fucking disaster and it will most likely get turned into scrap paper for future collage paintings. The second painting shows promise but overall I’m not happy with my output tonight.

13442411_1155206604501023_3184933053670379451_n.jpg

Here is a detail of the giant drawing of the United States of America that is hanging on the wall in the classroom. This drawing is 100 times better than anything I’ve painted the entire year. Tonight I was reminded that I can’t take myself too seriously and I need to always approach the act of painting with the curiosity and haphazardness of a child.

Leave a Reply

