WORK IN PROGRESS – EMBRACE THE BLACK

Work In Progress – I am working on a new 4′ x 3′ abstract painting for the “Two-Headed Beast” exhibition. I started by covering the panel with a layer of comic book clippings and crossword puzzles and then I painted over the paper collage with a layer of antique white paint. I just used a large brush to add a layer of black paint. Now I will stare at the painting while the black paint dries and think about my next attack. Will I add a layer of Red? or Blue? Will I use a brush? Or a roller? Or a knife? Will I add or subtract paint? Will I rip off layers of paper? Will I add more paper? So many possibilities. This is what makes painting exciting. Not knowing what comes next. I’m just following my gut and hoping that the end result is worthy of your eyeballs.

IMG_4818

Leave a Reply

