PIZZA LOVES TACO

For the past 16 days, I’ve been stuck in creative purgatory trying to find the motivation to start working on a new series of illustrations. I’ve been lazy and unproductive and uninspired. I’m burnt out. I just want to eat burritos and watch 80’s cartoons.

I’ve been obsessed with the idea of writing and illustrating a comic strip / comic book called PIZZA LOVES TACO about a slice of pizza and a taco that have a very dysfunctional but loving relationship. PIZZA LOVES TACO is one of those projects that is always haunting my mind and nagging me for attention. I thought drawing some character designs for PIZZA LOVES TACO might be the perfect medicine for my creative atrophy.

I want the characters to be both creepy and endearing. I also want the illustration style to stay consistent with my other illustration work. I want the drawings to look like I drew them. I’m not interested in drawing like Gary Baseman, Craig McCracken or John Kricfalusi. I’m still trying to figure out how to draw these characters in my own style or a slightly cartoony version of my style.

Pizza-Sketch

Leave a Reply

