ABSTRACTIONS

I started working on a new series of abstract paintings. I plan on creating enough paintings to have a small exhibition or host a private sell at my house. Nothing is set in stone. No deadlines. No pressure.

My collection of collage materials is quickly dwindling away. I need to make a trip to a used bookstore or a thrift store to replenish my stash. I like using old books with charts and diagrams and technical drawings. I like handwritten notes. I like maps and blueprints and crossword puzzles and letter stencils. I’m looking forward to hunting for new materials.

I have an old copy of Chuck Palahniuk’s “Survivor” that is severely damaged and I want to rip it apart and do a series of paintings inspired by the book. Palahniuk is one of my favorite authors and “Survivor” is one of my favorite novels by Palahniuk so it will be fun to revisit the book in a fresh and different way.

Here is a snapshot of the paintings in progress. I hope to post some proper photos in the very near future. Keep checking the blog for more updates.

Leave a Reply

