HAPPY HOLIDAYS FROM DUSTIN PARKER

I wanted to take a moment to wish all of you a very happy holiday season and to thank all of you for your love and support.

I have been hard at work in Santa’s workshop cooking up some delicious eye candy for a batch of BIG projects / exhibitions that will be unleashed upon the masses next year.

I’m currently working on a new series of abstract paintings for a solo exhibition at Watermark Books & Cafe. The show is tentatively titled EMPTY CITY and will be my first ALL abstract show. I’m currently exhibiting a batch of brand new abstract paintings at Sugar Sisters Bakery & Cafe and those paintings are a good indicator of the direction I’m heading with my abstract work.

I decided to do an all abstract exhibition because I want to progress forward and explore areas of my creative identity that I haven’t previously explored. I find abstract painting to be extremely challenging and stepping up to that challenge really excites me. I’m exploring uncharted territory and part of the excitement comes from addressing new creative challenges and experimenting with new ways to create images. The experience of creating abstract paintings is still very fresh and foreign to me, and that is very invigorating because I don’t feel tied down to anything. I feel completely free to make bold creative decisions.

I am frantically working on a self published book titled DIGITAL APOCALYPSE. The book will showcase tons of never-before-seen digital paintings that I am keeping under wraps until the book is released next year. The book will also feature a step-by-step breakdown of my creative process and give readers a behind the scenes look at how a digital painting evolves from start to finish. I plan on celebrating the release of the book with a massive all digital solo exhibition at the Tangent Lab.

I am also in the process of writing a script for a 12 page comic that MIGHT be included in DIGITAL APOCALYPSE. I’ve always wanted to write and illustrate a graphic novel but the whole idea really intimidates me. In the process of developing ideas for DIGITAL APOCALYPSE I came up with an idea that I felt was deserving of the comic book treatment. My hope is that the story would eventually be expanded into a full graphic novel, or a collection of short stories.

See you in 2009
-Dust

Leave a Reply

